All Important Viceroys of Modern INDIAN History Notes


Are you searching for All Important Viceroys of Modern INDIAN History Notes? here we have uploded all important viceroys.

Here we have uploded all important viceroy for Modern Indian History Like

History Notes From All In PDF complies Into A Single Post. This History Notes Will Help Candidates Preparing For UPSC, Civil Services, SSC, Bank, GPSC Exams And Other Competitive Exams In India. It Will Help Candidates In Revising Indian History And World History For These Exams. It Contains All Important Facts And Details Of History. It Will Be Very Useful For Revising The Modern India, Medieval History, And Ancient History PDF Notes.

If Students Are Finding It Hard In Searching For History Book Or History PDF, Notes OR Materials In Online Then HIRENSIR.COM Is The Right Place As We Have Got All The History IN the English LANGUAGE Of Notes From In Single Post. We Also Provide All Books In A Simple And Easy Way.We Have Created This Section Of General Knowledge By Keeping In Mind The Relevance Of This Subject In Various Competitive Exams Viz. GPSC Exam, UPSC Exams, SSC Exams, Railway Exams And Other Such Competitive Exams.

The Viceroys of India

Here We have uploded all important Viceroy notes In Modern Indian History. Hope you Read and learn it.

Notes of All Important Viceroys of Modern INDIAN History Notes

Lord Canning (1856 – 62)

 Revolt of 1857.
 Queen Victoria’s Proclamation and the passing of the Indian Act of 1858.
 Withdrawal of the ‘Doctrine of Lapse’ in 1859, which was passed by Lord Dalhousie.
 Foundation of the Universities of Calcutta, Bombay and Madras in 1857.
 Indigo Revolt in Bengal in 1859-60.
 White Mutiny by the European troops of East India Company in 1859.
 Bahadurshah II was sent to Rangoon
 Enactment of Indian Penal code.
 Indian Councils Act of 1861.
 Enactment of Indian Code of Criminal Procedure.

Lord Elgin (1862 – 63)

 Suppressed the Wahabi Movement Sir John Lawrence (1864 – 69)
 Famine commission was constituted.
 Followed a policy of rigid non-interference in Afghanistan called a policy of masterly inactivity.
 Set up high courts in Calcutta Bombay and Madras (1865).

Lord Mayo (1869-72)

 Wahabi and Kuka movements were active.
 Mayo was murdered

Lord Lytton (1876-80)


 Passing of the Royal Titles Act of 1876 and the assumption of the title Empress of India (Qaiser-hind) by Queen Victoria.
 Holding of Delhi Durbar in 1877.
 Passing of the Vernacular Press Act of 1878.
 Passing of the Arms Act of 1878.
 Lowering of maximum age from 21 years to 19 years for the Civil Services Examination, an attempt to prevent Indians from entering Civil Services.
 Appointment of first Famine Commission under Sir Richard Strachey.
 Started Statutory Civil Service.
 Second Anglo-Afghan war in 1878.

Lord Ripon (1880-84)


 Passing of the first Factory Act in 1881 for the welfare of child labor.
 Repeal of Vernacular Press Act in 1882.
 Foundation of the Local Self Government (1882)
 Holding of the first decennial and regular census in 1881 which put the total population at 254 million.
 Appointment of an Education Commission under Sir William Hunter in 1882.
 The Ilbert bill controversy.
 Famine code of 1883.

Lord Dufferin (1884 – 88)

 Foundation of Indian National Congress
 Third Anglo Burmese war
 Commented on the Congress being a microscopic minority.

Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

 Creation of a new province called the North West Frontier Province.
 Appointment of Universities Commission in 1902 under Sir Thoma Raleigh and a passing of Indian Universities Act 1904.
 Partition of Bengal.

Lord Hardinge (1910-1916)

 Coronation Durbar in 1911 at Delhi in honor of GeorgeV.
 A separate state of Bihar and Orissa was created in 1911.
 India’s capital was decided to shift to Delhi in 1911 and shifted in 1912.
 Kamagata Maru incident.
 1916, Saddler committee on Universities appointed.
 Tilak founded Home Rule League.
Lord Chelmsford (1916 – 21)  Foundation of women’s university at Poona.
 Hunter Commission on Jalianwala Bagh Massacre.
 Chamber of Princes established in 1921.
 Home Rule League founded by Annie Besant.
 Third Afghan war started.
 Aligarh Muslim University was founded in 1920.
 Lord Reading (1921-26)  Foundation of Rashtriya Swayam Sevak Sangh by K.B. Hedgewar at Nagpur in 1925.
 Beginning of Indianisation of the officer’s cadre of the Indian Army.
 Railway Budget was separated from General Budget in 1921.
 Hilton Young Committee on currency was appointed in 1926.
 Viswa Bharati University started by Rabindra Nath Tagore.
 Train Robbery at Kakori.

Lord Irwin (1926-31)

 Popularly known as Christian Viceroy.
 Simon Commission arrives in Bombay.
 Meerut conspiracy case.
 Gandhi started his Dandi March.
 Chittagong Armoury Raid.
 First Round Table Conference.
 Gandhi-Irwin Pact.
Lord Willington (1931-36)  Communal Award in 1932 by Ramsay Mac Donald.
 Third Round Table Conference in 1932.
 White Paper on Political reforms in India was published in 1933.
 Burma was separated from British Empire in 1935.
 Lord Linlithgow (1936-43)  August Offer by the Viceroy in which he declared dominion status as the ultimate goal of British policy in India.
 In 1940 individual Civil Disobedience Movement was started.
 1942 Cripps Mission came.
 Congress starts Quit India Movement.

Lord Wavell (1943-47)


 Wavell Plan, Shimla conference Congress represented by Maulana Azad
 RIN Mutiny (1946)
 Interim Government was formed (September 2, 1946)
 Prime Minister of Britain Clement Atlee announced to give independence to India by June 1948.
 Cabinet Mission 1946.
 16th August 1946, Muslim League begins ‘Direct Action day’.
Lord Mountbatten (1947-48)  His plan to make India free on August 15, 1947, is also known as June 3rd Plan.
 First Governor General of free India.
 Rajagopalachari (1948-50)  First Indian Governor General.


Here we have uploded all viceroy list and their roll of India. They will help for to read in Modern Indian History topics in  India.

Subscribe us on whatsapp


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here